Far From The Madding Crowd audiobook

Far From The Madding Crowd audiobook
Thomas HARDY (1840 – 1928)
Far From The Madding Crowd is Hardy’s fourth novel. It centres on the lives of five characters: Gabriel Oak, Bathsheba Everdene, Mr Boldwood, Sgt. Troy and Fanny Robin. The plot involves love, loyalty, death and betrayal and all this is delivered to us in Hardy’s most eloquent prose. The images of character and nature are painted for our mind’s eye with sublime style. Finally, but not least, Hardy’s use of the Greek chorus is unsurpassed in injecting comedy and nudging the story along. (Summary by Tadhg Hynes)

Proof-Listeners: Joy Easton & Betty M.
Genre(s): General Fiction
Language: English (FULL Audiobook)


Far From the Madding Crowd


The title page from a 1874 first edition of “Far From The Madding Crowd.”
Author Thomas Hardy
Country England
Language English
Genre Novel
Publisher Cornhill Magazine
Publication date 1874
Media type Print (hardback & paperback)
Pages 464 pages (Harper & Brothers edition, 1912)
ISBN NA (original edition), ISBN 0-333-16891-7 (London : Macmillan, 1975)
Preceded by A Pair of Blue Eyes’
Followed by The Hand of Ethelberta’